[Date Prev][Date Next][Date Index]

E-M:/ jet ski bill becomes law

Enviro-Mich message from Dave Dempsey <davemec@voyager.net>

Governor Engler today signed the state's first personal watercraft safety
act, sponsored by Rep. William Callahan.  The bill

*  sets a minimum age of 14 for jet ski use

* requires youth age 14-19 must have a boating safety certificate by 4/1/99
to operate PWCs

*  limits legal operating hours for PWCs from 8 a.m. to 1 hour before
sunset, effective 4/1/99

*  prohibits reckless riding (for example, jumping other vessels' wakes)
and establishes a misdemeanor for reckless riders

*  requires PWCs to stay at least 200 feet offshore of the Great Lakes and
prohibits PWC use less than 200 feet from a submerged diver or flotation

* bans non-residents from using PWCs without a boating safety certificate
or equivalent

*  mandates that DNR issue a boating safety certificate to each individual
who successfully completes a course and examination

*  requires PWC operators and riders to wear personal flotation devices

*  and has a 5-year sunset.
Dave Dempsey
Policy Director
Michigan Environmental Council
119 Pere Marquette, Suite 2A
Lansing, MI 48912

ENVIRO-MICH:  Internet List and Forum for Michigan Environmental
and Conservation Issues and Michigan-based Citizen Action.   Archives at

Postings to:  enviro-mich@great-lakes.net      For info, send email to
majordomo@great-lakes.net  with a one-line message body of  "info enviro-mich"