[Date Prev][Date Next][Date Index]

E-M:/ bond goes to house-senate conference committee

Enviro-Mich message from Dave Dempsey <davemec@voyager.net>

As expected, the State Senate did not concur in the House changes to the
environmental bond today.  The vote was 17-18 (20 votes are needed).

Voting to accept the House changes (a pro-environment vote):  Berryman,
Byrum, Cherry, Conroy, DeBeaussaert, Dingell, Gougeon, Hart, Jaye,
Koivisto, Miller, O'Brien, Peters, Alma Wheeler Smith, Virgil Smith,
Vaughn, Young.

Voting not to concur in the House changes:  Bennett, Bouchard, Bullard,
Cisky, DeGrow, Dunaskiss, Gast, Geake, Hoffman, North, Posthumus, Rogers,
Schuette, Schwarz, Shugars, Steil, Stille, Van Regenmorter.

A House-Senate conference committee will attempt to reach a compromise by
next week.  House members are Reps. Alley, Middaugh, Kilpatrick.  Senate
members are expected to be Sens. Bennett, Gast, DeBeaussaert.  Persons
interested in expressing views on the bond to these members may do so by:

Alley e-mail:  talley@house.state.mi.us, fax 517-373-5495.
Middaugh e-mail:  jmiddau@house.state.mi.us, fax 517-373-5940.
Kilpatrick e-mail:  kkilpat@house.state.mi.us, fax 517-373-5946.

Bennett fax:  517-373-9228.
Gast fax:  517-373-0897.
DeBeaussaert fax:  517-373-3126.
Dave Dempsey
Policy Director
Michigan Environmental Council
119 Pere Marquette, Suite 2A
Lansing, MI 48912

ENVIRO-MICH:  Internet List and Forum for Michigan Environmental
and Conservation Issues and Michigan-based Citizen Action.   Archives at

Postings to:  enviro-mich@great-lakes.net      For info, send email to
majordomo@great-lakes.net  with a one-line message body of  "info enviro-mich"