[Date Prev][Date Next][Date Index]

E-M:/ House Renewable Energy Caucus, Co-chaired by Mich. Rep. Vern Ehlers

Enviro-Mich message from David Wright <wrightd@voyager.net>

>X-From_: kbossong@cais.com Fri Feb 12 06:46:17 1999
>From: SUN DAY Campaign <kbossong@cais.com>
>To: "'Sustainable Energy Coalition: Weekly Update - List'"
>	 <kbossong@cais.com>
>Subject: NEWS RELEASE: House, Senate Renewables/Energy Efficiency Caucuses
>Date: Fri, 12 Feb 1999 06:04:52 -0500
>X-MIME-Autoconverted: from quoted-printable to 8bit by mail-in.voyager.net
id GAA23341
>315 Circle Avenue, #2; Takoma Park, MD 20912-4836 
>(301-270-2258; fax: 301-891-2866)
>For Release: February 11, 1999		Contact: Craig Cox     703-836-3654
>                   Tuesday - 9:00 a.m.		 Jaime Steve  202-383-2506
>Washington, DC -- On Tuesday, February 9, twenty-one members (11 D's, 10
R's) of the U.S. Senate announced the launching of the Senate Renewable
Energy and Energy Efficiency Caucus.  Simultaneously, membership in the
House Renewable Energy Caucus has grown to an all-time high of 140 members
(77 D's, 62 R's, 1 I.), representing nearly a third of all the members of
the U.S. House of Representatives.
>This week, Senator Wayne Allard (R-CO) formally "kicked off" the Senate
Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency Caucus which he chairs.  Co-chairs
of this caucus are Senators Jim Jeffords (R-VT), Bob Kerrey (D-NE), Jeff
Bingaman (D-NM), and Tim Johnson (D-SD). The Senate Caucus will serve as a
bi-partisan forum for the exchange of information on the status and
potential of solar, wind, geothermal, bioenergy, and hydroelectric
technologies as well as energy efficiency. The Sustainable Energy Coalition
is working with the Caucus to expand its membership to at least 25 senators
during 1999.
>The House Renewable Energy Caucus, presently chaired by Rep. Matt Salmon
(R-AZ), was founded in 1995 by former congressmen Dan Schaefer (R-CO) and
Scott Klug (R-WI) to serve as a bi-partisan forum on renewable energy and
energy efficiency issues.  Co-chairs of this caucus are Reps. Karen Thurman
(D-FL), Vern Ehlers (R-MI), and David Minge (D-MN).  The House Caucus ended
the 104th Congress with 102 members and last year, the 105th Congress ended
with 137 members.   The Sustainable Energy Coalition, which has worked
closely with the House Caucus since its founding, is striving to increase
Caucus membership to at least 150 members during 1999.
>Since its formation, the House Renewable Energy Caucus has held periodic
briefings for members and staff and helps stage an annual "Expo" at which
dozens of energy companies, government laboratories, and trade associations
demonstrate their latest technologies.  The 1998 Renewable Energy Expo
attracted nearly 2,800 visitors; the 1999 Expo is scheduled to be held
April 21 in the Cannon House Caucus Room.
>"The existence and growth of the caucuses have been pivotal in
demonstrating congressional support for sustainable energy technologies
during the past four years," said Craig Cox, a Sustainable Energy Coalition
spokesperson and senior associate at Bob Lawrence & Associates. "Many of
their members have contributed to the successful efforts in both houses to
increase support for renewable energy and energy efficiency programs."
># # # # 
>A list of the members of the House and Senate caucuses is available at
<http://www.biomass.org> or can be faxed upon request.  
>The Sustainable Energy Coalition is a coalition of 36 national business,
environmental, consumer, and energy policy organizations founded in 1992 to
promote increased use of renewable energy and energy efficiency.
David Wright
Policy Specialist
Michigan Environmental Council
119 Pere Marquette, Suite 2A
Lansing, Michigan 48912
(517) 487-9539 phone  (517) 487-9541 fax

ENVIRO-MICH:  Internet List and Forum for Michigan Environmental
and Conservation Issues and Michigan-based Citizen Action.   Archives at

Postings to:  enviro-mich@great-lakes.net      For info, send email to
majordomo@great-lakes.net  with a one-line message body of  "info enviro-mich"