[Date Prev][Date Next][Date Index]

E-M:/ FW: LWCF and CARA



-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Enviro-Mich message from "Tom & Anne Woiwode" <woiwode@voyager.net>
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

For those unfamiliar with this legislation, our own Congressman John Dingell
has led the charge on its passage in the house.  As you will see below,
Senator Abraham has recently signed on to the Senate version.  If this
passes, it could mean as much as $50 million annually for conservation in
Michigan.

Tom
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Tom, Anne, Nate and Pete Woiwode
5088 Powell Road
Okemos, MI 48864

----------
From: HeartlakeC@aol.com
To: ShereM@mail01.dnr.state.wi.us, kmanecke@ameritech.net (Kirt Manecke),
parkrause@ballcom.com, hjordahl@tnc.org, KarrC@mail01.dnr.state.wi.us,
saveland@uosf.org (Heather Mann), Elkin@gatheringwaters.org,
dcies@1000friendsofwisconsin.com, curt@savingcranes.org (Curt Meine),
NATTRAILS@aol.com, carl.zichella@sfsierra.sierraclub.org,
HeartlakeC@aol.com, spotts@ncis.net (Richard Spotts), wpra@execpc.com (Steve
Thompson), Ilse.gene@worldnet.att.net (Ilse Wagner), renewal@baraboo.com
(Dave Wernecke), ruth@oppedahl.com (Ruth Oppedahl), Redfox5725@aol.com,
AWARE@mailbag.com (Jim Shurts), swansb@dnr.state.wi.us (Bruce Swanson),
baconb@dnr.state.wi.us (Bruce Bacon), mdallman@tnc.org (Matt Dallman),
willers@vaxa.cis.uwosh.edu (William Willers), kross@wysa.org (Kelly Ross),
opra@ee.net (Michelle Parks), jack@greenlink.org (Jack Shaner),
dking@tnc.org (Denise King), GLynch5649@aol.com, myoung1@cmhmetro.net (Mark
Young), Mbroan@aol.com, vrnpa@mtn.org (voyageurs region natl park ssn),
emmett.mullin@dnr.state.mn.us, GBotzek@aol.com, nelson_french@hotmail.com,
browns@wavefront.com (Charlotte Brooker), rleone@mnland.org (Renay Leone),
riversmn@eot.com (Barbara Lukin), ghorner@tnc.org (Gabe Horner),
radam03@ibm.net (Russ Adams), crwp@means.net (Allene Moesler),
dweirens@mncounties.org, MNRECPARK@aol.com, criley@tallgrass-inc.com (Cheryl
Riley), woiwode@voyager.net (Tom & Anne Woiwode),
metrodetroit@cleanwater.org (Brad Wilson), conanmec@voyager.net,
hcoleman@co.wayne.mi.us.mmaisner@mrpaonline.org (Mike Maisner),
mike.carrier@dnr.state.ia.us, infor@inhf.org (Mark Ackelson),
dmcgrath@tnc.org, Ingle@fw.dnr.state.in.us (Betsy Ingle),
bbronson@dnr.state.in.us (Bob Bronson), mmcconnell@tnc.org (Mary McConnell),
emyers@dnr.state.in.us (Eric Myers), INPARKREC@aol.com,
dseal@noblesville.in.us, akimmel@co.lake.il.us, cemken@tnc.org,
kalderson@iml.org, pmurphy@ilparks.org, kcottrell@dnrmail.state.il.us,
Bmontey@aol.com, jem@ingersoll.com, CBECKER@dnrmail.state.il.us,
vscott@dnrmail.state.il.us, ifor@piasanet.com, doug.chien@sierraclub.org
(Douglas Chien), PKohring@aol.com, iysa@iysa.org (Mary Jane Bender),
brookmcd@ais.net (Brook McDonald), jsatrom@ducks.org
Subject: LWCF and CARA
Date: Fri, May 26, 2000, 10:13 AM


TO:  Midwest LWCF Advocates

FROM:  Peter McKeever

Date:  May 26, 2000

I thought you would find this information about CARA of interest

I am told Sen. Spencer Abraham in Michigan has announced his support for
CARA
and signed on to S. 2123 has a cosponsor.  Congratulations to you folks in
Michigan!

Enjoy the memorial Day weekend.  Many of you will be enjoying places
protected by LWCF funds over the years.  Before you leave, and when you get
back, let your senators know how important these places are to you.  And
have
a great time.

Summary of CARA Hearing in Senate

Yesterday  (May 24, 2000), the Senate Environment and Public Works Committee
held an oversight hearing on various CARA bills including S. 25, S. 2123 and
S. 2181. Overall, the hearing was very positive and set the tone for future
Senate debate on CARA. Most of the witnesses had only good things to say
about CARA. David Waller and Wayne Vetter testified on behalf of the
International Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies (see press release
below and visit http://www.teaming.com/update.htm to read IAFWA's
testimony).

The following individuals testified:

Sen. Thad Cochran (MS)
Sen. Mary Landrieu (LA)
Rep. Don Young (AK)
Rep. George Miller (CA)
Rep. Helen Chenoweth-Hage (ID)
Rep. John Shadegg (AZ)
Rep. Billy Tauzin (LA)
The Honorable Jamie Clark, Director of the US Fish and Wildlife Service
DAVID WALLER, PRESIDENT, INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE
AGENCIES & DIRECTOR OF GEORGIA WILDLIFE RESOURCES DIVISION
WAYNE VETTER, DIRECTOR OF NEW HAMPSHIRE FISH AND GAME DEPARTMENT
Rindy O'Brien, Vice President of Policy, The Wilderness Society
Rodger Schlickeisen, President, Defenders of Wildlife
Mike Hardiman, American Land Rights Association
Charlie Niebling, Policy Director, Society for the Protection of New
Hampshire Forests
Dr. Rollin D. Sparrowe, President, Wildlife Management Institute

Senators present for the hearing included: Chairman Bob Smith (NH), Ranking
Member Max Baucus (MT), and Sens. Inhofe (OK), Chafee (RI), Bennett (UT),
Crapo (ID), Lautenberg (NJ), Boxer (CA), Reid (NV), Lieberman (CT) and
Graham (FL). Most of the senators made supportive statements, particularly
Sen. Boxer who was a major advocate for making CARA happen this year. What
little opposition there was came from panelists Reps. Chenoweth-Hage and
Shadegg, the American Land Rights Association and Senators Inhofe and
Bennett -- all primarily of a property rights nature with budget concerns
added here and there. The highlight of the hearing was at the end when Sen.
Smith gave a roaring statement of support for CARA and took property rights
and budget opposition arguments head on. At the end of his statement, Sen.
Boxer who was sitting next to Smith, added "We may have Miller-Young over
there, but we have Smith-Boxer over here." The room erupted in cheers and
laughter.


==============================================================
ENVIRO-MICH:  Internet List and Forum for Michigan Environmental
and Conservation Issues and Michigan-based Citizen Action.   Archives at
http://www.great-lakes.net/lists/enviro-mich/

Postings to:  enviro-mich@great-lakes.net      For info, send email to
majordomo@great-lakes.net  with a one-line message body of  "info enviro-mich"
==============================================================