[Date Prev][Date Next][Date Index]

E-M:/ Governor Appoints Land Use Commission

Today Governor Granholm appointed a 26-member bipartisan council charged with “studying and identifying trends, causes, and consequences of urban sprawl.” 

The Michigan Land Use Leadership Council will also include the directors of Agriculture, Natural Resources, Environmental Quality, Consumer and Industry Services and Transportation as non-voting members.




Commission Members include:


William Milliken

Former Governor of Michigan (Co-Chair)

Frank Kelley

Former Attorney General of Michigan (Co-Chair)

Patty Birkholz

State Senator

Liz Brater

State Senator

Ruth Johnson

State Representative

Chris Kolb

State Representative

Jim Barrett

Michigan Chamber of Commerce, President

Jim Brooks

Retired Businessman

Keith Charters

New Designs for Growth

Dan Gilmartin

Michigan Municipal League, Deputy Executive Director

Gordon Guyer

Former DNR & Agriculture Dept. Director

Colin Hubbell

The Hubbell Group, Founding Partner

Robert R. Jones

Builder, Former President Michigan Home Builders Assoc.

Dan Kildee

Genesee County Treasurer

Mick McGraw

Home Builder/Developer

Chris MacInnes

Crystal Mountain Resort, Senior VP

Larry Merrill

Michigan Township Association, Executive Director

James Okrazewski

MeadWestvaco Papers Group, Fiber Supply Manager

Lana Pollack

Michigan Environmental Council, President

Helen Taylor

Nature Conservancy, State Director

Rev. Kevin Turman

M.O.S.E.S., President

Hans Voss

Michigan Land Use Institute, Executive Director

Brian Warner

Wolverine Power, Environmentalist

Hester Wheeler

Detroit NAACP, Executive Director

Gil White

Michigan Association of Realtors, Director

Wayne Wood

Michigan Farm Bureau, President


Conan Smith

Land Programs Director

Michigan Environmental Council

119 Pere Marquette, Suite 2A

Lansing, MI  48912



p. 517-487-9539

f. 517-487-9541