[Date Prev][Date Next][Date Index]

E-M:/ SCENIC MICHIGAN ACTION ALERT-BILLBOARD LEGISLATION!



-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Enviro-Mich message from "Abby Dart" <info@scenicmichigan.org>
-------------------------------------------------------------------------



On Tuesday, February 7, 2006, the House Transportation Committee will be
hearing testimony on billboard bills, SB 567 (George) SB568 (Gilbert) and SB
911 (Gilbert).  PLEASE ATTEND THE HEARING AT 9 A.M. IN THE HOUSE OFFICE
BUILDING, ROOM 307, 124 NORTH CAPITOL, LANSING.

·	These bills provide for a moratorium on new billboard permits but allow
billboards to be 	moved from one location to another
·	There are currently over 14,000 billboards on Michigan?s roads with an
additional 1500 	outstanding permits ready to be built.
·	THESE BILLS WILL DO NOTHING TO STOP BILLBOARDS FROM BEING BUILT ON ALREADY
PERMITTED SITES.
·	SB 568 ALLOWS THE BILLBOARD INDUSTRY TO TRIM VEGETATION AROUND BILLBOARDS
WITH APPROVAL AND 	OVERSIGHT BY MDOT.

SCENIC MICHIGAN OPPOSES SB 567, SB568 AND SB 911 UNLESS THE FOLLOWING
CHANGES ARE MADE:

·	Expiration of the outstanding unbuilt permits within 90 days
·	Inclusion of language that transferred billboards cannot be moved to
scenic areas
·	Addition of language that ensures that BEFORE a new billboard goes up, an
existing 	billboard actually, physically comes down
·	That these bills take immediate effect to prevent a rush for new permits

PLEASE CONTACT THESE HOUSE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE MEMBERS AND ENCOURAGE
THEM TO MAKE THESE CHANGES TO THE BILLS
 	Chair:  Rep. Philip Lajoy     phillajoy@house.mi.gov  (866) LAJOY21
		Rep. David Law       davidlaw@house.mi.gov  (888) 496-4968
		Rep. Robert Gosselin  robertgosselin@house.mi.gov  (800) 347-8041
		Rep. Tom Meyer     tommeyer@house.mi.gov  (888)  254-5284
		Rep. Tom Casperson   (866) 779-1108
		Rep. Neal Nitz        nealnitz@house.mi.gov  (888) 373-0078
		Rep. Lorence Wenke  lorencewenke@house.mi.gov  (877) 686-1787
		Rep. Rep. Tim Moore  timmoore@house.mi.gov  (866) MOORE-97
		Rep. Phillip Pavlov     phillippavlov@house.mi.gov  (866) 4-PAVLOV
		Rep. Tom Pearce    tompearce@house.mi.gov  (888) 414-3684
		Rep.Glenn Anderson glennanderson@house.mi.gov (888) 833-8494
		Rep. Pam Byrnes   pambyrnes@house.mi.gov  (800) 645-1581
		Rep. Michael Murphy	michaelmurphy@house.mi.gov  (517) 373-0826
		Rep. Kathleen Law kathleenlaw@house.mi.gov (866) 725-2929
		Rep. Morris Hood morrishood@house.mi.gov (877) 275-4694
		Rep. John Gleason johngleason@house.mi.gov (866) 268-2914
		Rep. Gabe Leland gabeleland@house.mi.gov (866) 525-GABE


Please note new e-mail address for Scenic Michigan:info@scenicmichigan.org
Abby Dart
Scenic Michigan
445 E. Mitchell St.
Petoskey, MI 49770
231-347-1171
231-347-1185 (fax)
231-881-6266 (cell)
website: www.scenicmichigan.org


==============================================================
ENVIRO-MICH:  Internet List and Forum for Michigan Environmental
and Conservation Issues and Michigan-based Citizen Action.   Archives at
http://www.great-lakes.net/lists/enviro-mich/

Postings to:  enviro-mich@great-lakes.net      For info, send email to
majordomo@great-lakes.net  with a one-line message body of  "info enviro-mich"
==============================================================