[Date Prev][Date Next][Date Index]

E-M:/ Michigan Environmental Council Capitol Update 2-2-07

The House Great Lakes and Environment Committee held its first meeting on Wednesday (1/31) and took testimony on HB 4047, a bill that places a moratorium on construction of new landfills and limits expansion of existing landfills.  The department released in most recent figures regarding trash disposal in Michigan and for the fifth straight year out-of-state trash increased – and now represents 31% of all trash going into Michigan landfills.


Committee assignments have been made for both the Senate and House. Below are the members of some select committees and schedules for when House committees will meet




Committee Members:


Senators Van Woerkom (C), Gilbert (VC), Birkholz, Gleason (MVC), and Whitmer

Clerk: Jeff Cobb (517) 373-1635 


Energy Policy

Senators Patterson (C), Brown (VC), Birkholz, Kuipers, Richardville, Olshove (MVC), Prusi, and Thomas

Clerk: Chris Gillett (517) 373-7350

Health Policy

Senators George (C), Patterson (VC), Sanborn, Allen, Clarke (MVC), Gleason, and Jacobs

Clerk: Holly Nester (517) 373-0793


Natural Resources & Environmental Affairs

Senators Birkholz (C), Van Woerkom (VC), Patterson, Basham (MVC), and Prusi

Clerk: Joy Brewer (517) 373-3447



Senators Gilbert (C), Kahn (VC), Van Woerkom, Basham (MVC), and Gleason

Clerk: James McCann (517) 373-7708


In Committee:

Economic Development & Regulatory Reform will meet on Wednesday (2/7) at 1:00 pm to:

Presentation by MSU on developing new opportunities in a post-petroleum economy. 



Committee Members:


Reps. Mayes (C), Byrum (Maj. VC), Angerer, Brown, Kathleen Law, Leland, Sheltrown, Walker (Min. VC), Nitz, Ball, Meekhof

Meeting times: Tuesdays at 12:00 p.m. in 326 HOB


Energy and Technology

Reps. Accavitti (C), Mayes (Maj. VC), Angerer, Brown, Clemente, Ebli, Hammon, Hopgood, Lemmons, Lindberg, Melton, Miller, Nofs (Min. VC), Palsrok, Garfield, Huizenga, Moolenaar, Horn, Opsommer

Meeting times: Wednesdays at 9:00 a.m. in 519 HOB


Great Lakes and Environment

Reps. Warren (C), Donigan (Maj. VC), Ebli, Griffin, Kathleen Law, Leland, Meadows, Miller, Valentine, Robertson (Min. VC), Palmer, Emmons, Moolenaar, Walker, Meekhof

Meeting times: Wednesdays at 12:00 p.m. in 521 HOB


Health Policy

Reps. Angerer (C), Simpson (Maj. VC), Byrum, Clack, Corriveau, Coulouris, Donigan, Hammon, Robert Jones, Valentine, Wojno, Gaffney (Min. VC), Ward, Hune, Marleau, Green, Ball, Calley

Meeting times: Thursdays at 9:00 a.m. in 519 HOB


Tourism, Outdoor Recreation and Natural Resources

Reps. Sheltrown (C), Ebli (Maj. VC), Brown, Hammon, Kathleen Law, Lindberg, Simpson, Casperson (Min. VC), Walker, Stakoe, Horn

Meeting times: Tuesdays at 10:30 a.m. in 521 HOB



Reps. Hopgood (C), Griffin (Maj. VC), Accavitti, Bieda, Donigan, Ebli, Leland, Mayes, Miller, Young, LaJoy (Min. VC), Casperson, Nitz, Pavlov, Pearce, Stahl, Knollenberg

Meeting times: Thursdays at 10:30 a.m. in 307 HOB


In Committee:


Agriculture will meet on Tuesday (2/6) at 12:00 pm for an organizational meeting.


Energy and Technology will meet on Wednesday (2/7) at 9:00 am for an organizational meeting.


Tourism, Outdoor Recreation and Natural Resources will meet on Tuesday (2/6) at 10:30 am for an organizational meeting and presentation by George Zimmerman of Travel Michigan.



Submitted by:

James Clift
Kate Madigan
Michigan Environmental Council
119 Pere Marquette, Ste 2A
Lansing, MI 48912
(517) 487-9539