[Date Prev][Date Next][Date Index]

Indiana Port Commission Media Advisory (fwd)

---------- Forwarded message ----------
Date: Tue, 27 May 1997 06:46:47 -0700
From: ipccomm@travelin.com
Subject: Indiana Port Commission Media Advisory

Indiana Port Commission
Media Advisory
For Information Contact:
Spencer Valentine, (317) 232-9201 or 1-800-232-PORT
E-mail: ipccomm@travelin.com

St. Lawrence Seaway Administrator to Speak at Port

David Sanders to Address Indiana Port Commission Meeting 

	On Friday, June 6th, 1997, the Indiana Port Commission will feature 
speaker David Sanders as part of its monthly meeting at Indiana’s International 
Port/Burns Harbor at Portage.  
	The meeting is scheduled to begin at 10 a.m. in the conference room of 
William N. Kenefick Building at the International Port located at 6600 U. S. 
Highway #12, Portage, Indiana, and will conclude by noon.  The public and media 
are encouraged to attend.
	Mr. David Sanders is the administrator of the Saint Lawrence Seaway and 
will offer an update and an outlook for the future of shipping on the Seaway. 
Following the meeting there will be a ribbon cutting for the port’s new rail 
line which will double rail capacity for the port and a groundbreaking for a new 
tug harbor to house tugs from the Port of Chicago year round. These 
infrastructure developments are significant steps toward maintaining the port’s 
status as a full service international port. These events will feature local 
legislators and economic development leaders in photo opportunities.
	The Indiana Port Commission is a seven member bi-partisan body appointed 
by the Indiana Governor to develop and operate three public ports and a network 
of Foreign Trade Zones statewide.  In addition to Indiana’s International 
Port/Burns Harbor at Portage on Lake Michigan, the Commission also oversees the 
development of Indiana’s two Ohio River Ports: Southwind Maritime Centre, near 
Mt. Vernon and Clark Maritime Centre, at Jeffersonville.