[Date Prev][Date Next][Date Index]

Dexter High is Ocean Sciences Bowl Winner

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE :				February 28, 1997

Contact:	Mike Quigley, (734) 741-2149
		Cathy Darnell, (734) 741-2262


(Ann Arbor, MI)  --  Following a hard-fought, day-long series of matches ,
Dexter High School of Dexter, MI won top honors in the first-ever Midwest
Regional Competition of the National Ocean Sciences Bowl.  The event is an
academic "quiz bowl" competition among high school teams on ocean science
topics including physics, chemistry, biology, geology, social sciences and
technology.  The Midwest Competition is one of 16 regional events being
held across the U.S. to promote literacy in science and mathematics through
improved understanding of the world's oceans.  

The Dexter High School team now advances to the National Ocean Sciences
Bowl Finals in Washington DC,  April 25-27 where regional winners will
compete for the national title, and a First Place prize of an
all-expense-paid trip to EXPO ’98 in Lisbon, Portugal featuring events
celebrating the International Year of the Ocean. 

Members of the winning Dexter High School  team included: Megan Ewing, Pat
MacAlpine, Gary Michelfelder, Rebecca Porinsky, Nathan Smith and Coach
Dianne Stephenson.

Second Place in the event went to the Berrien County Math and Science
Center, Berrien Springs, MI.  Team members included: Travis Binkley, Greg
Bischoff, Rana Chang, Shawn Gano, Chad Weeks, and Coach Dennis Lundgren.

The Third Place Winner was Washtenaw Technical Middle College, Ann Arbor,
MI.  Team members included:  Aneesa Buageila, Hiba Ghalib, Sinem Guner,
Dustin Kiersey, Keith Rikli and Coach Jolea Mull.

Fourth Place went to Brighton High School, Brighton, MI.  Team members
included:  Lauren Beyer, Edward Claflin, William Edwards, Lisa Florida,
Austin Lampros and Coach Mary Florida.

The event was held at the Francois X. Bagnoud Building, College of
Engineering, University of Michigan North Campus in Ann Arbor.

Co-hosts and sponsors included NOAA’s Great Lakes Environmental Research
Laboratory, the Michigan Sea Grant Program, the University of Michigan’s
Cooperative Institute for Limnology and Ecosystems Research, the University
of Michigan’s Center for Great Lakes and Aquatic Sciences and ERIM
International Inc.

During a post-competition Awards Ceremony, Congresswoman Lynn Rivers (D-MI)
congratulated teams and presented team plaques, individual medals and cash
awards in support of science education programs at the winning schools.
The cash awards were contributed by the University of Michigan and ERIM
International Inc. ($1000 First Prize, $500 Second Prize, $250 Third Prize,
and $250 Fourth Prize).  

Guy Meadows, Director of the Cooperative Institute for Limnology and
Ecosystems Research, and Professor of Naval Architecture and Marine
Engineering presented additional prizes to teams participating in the day’s
Science Enhancement events.

Nationally, the NOSB competition is being coordinated by the Consortium for
Oceanographic Research and Education (CORE) and the National Marine
Educators Association (NMEA) with support from the National Oceanic and
Atmospheric Administration, the Office of Naval Research, the Oceanographer
of the Navy, the National Science Foundation, and the National Aeronautics
and Space Administration.