[Date Prev][Date Next][Date Index]

Great Lakes scholarship opportunity

Application deadline: March 15, 1998

-- Carol A. Ratza Memorial Scholarship --
To recognize outstanding achievement and 
vision in electronic communications technology

The Great Lakes Commission is pleased to announce a new scholarship
opportunity for students with an interest in electronic communications
technology and its applications in the Great Lakes region.

The scholarship is in memory of Carol A. Ratza, a veteran employee of
the Great Lakes Commission and a dedicated advocate for the protection
of the Great Lakes. With unique vision, Carol created and led numerous
influential communications projects, the most notable being the Great
Lakes Information Network (http://www.great-lakes.net) and the Great
Lakes Regional Air Toxics Emissions Inventory. These groundbreaking
initiatives applied the latest information technology to Commission
priorities, changing forever the way our region communicates and does
business. Although Carol's career was cut short by her untimely death in
1997, the Great Lakes Commission, and the region as a whole, continues
to benefit from her creative thinking, high standards and human grace.

A $500 scholarship will be awarded annually to a deserving student
enrolled full-time at a college or university in the Great Lakes states
(IL, IN, MI, MN, NY, OH, PA or WI) or Canadian provinces (Ontario or
Québec). The eligible student must have a demonstrated interest in the
environmental or economic applications of electronic communications
technology, and exhibit academic excellence and the personal drive and
commitment that defined Carol's success.
Application Process
Students should submit the required items to Dr. Michael J. Donahue,
Great Lakes Commission, 400 Fourth Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48103-4816.
Electronic submissions are welcome and encouraged. Email should be
directed to mdonahue@glc.org. Application deadline: March 15, 1998.

* 1,000-word essay addressing how electronic communications technology
can be used to advance environmental protection/sustainable development
efforts in the Great Lakes region
* Resume
* Grade transcripts through the last semester completed
* Two letters of recommendation
Selection Criteria
An award committee, comprised of Carol's family and colleagues, will
announce the first scholarship recipient by March 31, 1998. The
scholarship will be awarded in a single payment at that time. 

The Carol A. Ratza Memorial Scholarship is supported by donations and an
annual appropriation of the Great Lakes Commission.
The Great Lakes Commission is a nonpartisan, interstate compact agency
created by state and federal law and dedicated to promoting a strong
economy, clean environment and high quality of life for residents of the
eight-state Great Lakes region (Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota,
New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania and Wisconsin). The Commission consists of
state legislators, agency officials and governors' appointees from its
member states, and also maintains a formal Observer program involving
U.S. and Canadian federal and provincial agencies, tribal authorities,
binational agencies and other regional interests. The Commission offices
are located in Ann Arbor, Michigan; its home page is http://www.glc.org

See http://www.glc.org/announce/98/scholar98.html for more information.