[Date Prev][Date Next][Date Index]

GLIN==> Media Advisory: Québec City to host Great Lakes Commission

Title: Media Advisory: Québec City to host Great Lakes Commission

Québec City to host Great Lakes Commission


What: 2008 Annual Meeting of the Great Lakes Commission

For agenda and details, visit www.glc.org/meeting


When: October 5-7, 2008


Where: Château Laurier Hotel, 1220 Place George-V Ouest, Québec City, QC G1R5B8


Who: Premiere Jean Charest will deliver a welcome to the Great Lakes Commission at the start of

proceedings at 9:00 a.m. EDT Monday, Oct. 6.


Michigan Lt. Gov. John Cherry, Chair of the Great Lakes Commission, will preside over the

Annual Meeting


Illinois Lt. Gov. Patrick Quinn, Vice Chair of the Great Lakes Commission



Dr. Hugh J. MacIsaac, Professor, University of Windsor

Robert Masson, President, St. Lawrence Economic Development Council

Caroline Gravel, Director of Environmental Affairs, Shipping Federation of Canada

Marc Boucher, Government of Québec Chargé d’ affaires for Chicago

Dr. David Lodge, Professor, University of Notre Dame

James Roach, President, JLRoach, Inc.

Dr. Jennifer Read, Executive Director, Great Lakes Observing System

René Paquette, Director General, Electricity Div., Québec Ministry of Natural Resources



Great Lakes/St. Lawrence Seaway shipping: Economic benefits and environmental costs

The 400-year-old Québec-Great Lakes connection

The Great Lakes Observing System – monitoring real-time and historical lake conditions

Québec’s investment in wind energy



Christine Manninen

Great Lakes Commission


Cell 734-560-8598



Dave Knight

Great Lakes Commission


Cell 734-709-6168



Brigitte Asseline

Ministère des Relations internationals

418-649-2400 ext. 5190



The Great Lakes Commission is a nonpartisan, binational compact agency established under state and U.S. federal law and dedicated to

promoting a strong economy, healthy environment and high quality of life for the Great Lakes-St. Lawrence region and its residents. The

Commission consists of governors' appointees, state legislators, and agency officials from its eight member states. Associate membership for

Ontario and Québec was established through the signing of a "Declaration of Partnership." The Commission maintains a formal Observer

program involving U.S. and Canadian federal agencies, tribal authorities, binational agencies and other regional interests. The Commission

offices are located in Ann Arbor, Michigan.

Attachment: Quebec annual meeting_10-3-2008.pdf
Description: Adobe PDF document