Quad Cities Sub-area Contingency Plan

III. Description of the Quad Cities Area

Basis for Metropolitan Governance Approach

The sub-area plan represents a collaborative approach to coordinate responses by all levels of government. OPA 90 required that the federal government establish ACPs throughout the United States in order to provide more coordinated, efficient, and thorough responses by local, state and federal agencies to releases of oil. The NCP incorporated hazardous substances into this process, because of the advantages of utilizing a single plan for spills of all types of hazardous materials. EPA Region 7 determined to create only one ACP, with its geography coincident with the four states of Region 7. The Region 7 RRT, whose members also serve on the AC, later decided to consolidate the RCP, the ACP and applicable elements of the FRP into an RICP. The AC determined to create four sub-area plans within Region 7, because of a perceived need to upgrade the quality and quantity of planning information available, particularly because of the multiple governmental jurisdictions involved. These included the metropolitan areas of Omaha/Council Bluffs, the Quad Cities, Kansas City and St. Louis. In Region 5, the RCP/ACP was created and the AC Sub-area was accepted as one of its sub-areas.

The metropolitan areas were selected because in each case at least two large cities are separated by a major river, which is a shared resource, requiring joint stewardship and coordination among local municipalities, two states and in the case of the Quad Cities and St. Louis, two federal regions. Releases of oil or hazardous materials into the rivers may impact multiple jurisdictions and necessitate prompt notifications and coordinated responses.

Sub-area Geography

The QC SACP comprises Scott County, Iowa, and Rock Island County, Illinois, and the cities contained therein, including Davenport, Bettendorf, and Riverdale, Iowa, and Moline, East Moline, Rock Island, Milan, Silvis, Cordova, Port Byron and Rapid City, Illinois. The area extends along the Upper Mississippi River from river-mile 503 near Cordova, Illinois, downstream to river-mile 470 near Buffalo, Iowa. The combined population of the two counties is in excess of 400,000, with approximately 250,000 in Rock Island County and slightly more than 150,000 in Scott County. A map of the QC sub-area, which includes municipal boundaries and major highways, is included on Page 6.

Sub-area Climate

Rock Island and Scott counties are subject to substantial precipitation during the year, with from 25 to 35 inches falling as rain or snow. Winds during fall and winter are typically from the west and average 11 miles per hour, while spring and summer winds are from the south and average 8 miles per hour. Temperatures fluctuate from 40 to 90 degrees Fahrenheit during the spring and summer and from below 0 to 40 degrees from November to March. The area is one of the few along the Mississippi River that does not have a levee system and parts of Moline and Davenport are susceptible to high waters originating from upstream precipitation.

Back to Top
Back to Table of Contents